Skip to main content

Midland Park

Boosters Hall of Fame Adding 10 Members, New and Old

02/05/2014 08:56AM ● By Rebecca K. Abma

News clipping courtesy of the Boosters Association.

The Midland Park Athletic Booster Association will be hosting the Midland Park Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at The Brick House in Wyckoff on Saturday March 22, 2014 at 6:30 p.m.

This year's inductees include: 

Gary Banta, Class of 1971, one of the best hitters to ever play at Midland Park, batted .640 his senior year.

Charlie Van Dyk, Class of 1976, was the first wrestling champion in the district.

The 1982 Soccer Team, the first Midland Park soccer team to win a state-sectional title, with a 19-3-1 season.

Brian Wells, Class of 1989, a three-year starter in soccer, made first-team honors for All-League, All-Suburban, All-Area, All-County and All-State in his junior and senior years.

Elaine Mejury, Class of 1994, was a soccer standout who earned First-Team All-County honors.

Ryan Fells, Class of 1997, was named first team All-League and First Team All-County for his senior year, finishing his four-year varsity career with 1,160 points.

Amy Van Alstine, Class of 2006, was named Bergen County Runner of the Year and earned First Team All-State honors in cross country in 2005.  

In addition, three former inductees will be reinstated:

MPHS 1961 Football team, which earned the school's first conference championship with a record of 8-1.

John Aussems, Class of 1974, was one of the best running back in Midland Park Football History and a three-year starter.

Marianne Jordan, Class of 1978, was the first Midland Park basketball player (male or female) to score 1,000 points.

"It is our hope that the Hall of Fame Induction ceremony becomes an annual event and a tradition that the community will embrace for years to come," said Booster Tim Thomas, Class of 1983, who spearheaded the revitalization of the Boosters Hall of Fame last year. "We feel this is a great way to not only honor former Midland Park student athletes, but also a terrific forum to celebrate the rich history of Midland Park."

Last year the Hall of Fame inducted seven new members —Michael DeRuiter ('62), Greg Michael ('83), Hank Degenaars ('83), Sarah Faber ('85), Rob Fitzpatrick ('86), Kristy Smith ('93) and Tracey Smith ('96) — and 13 original inductees, who were selected by the late Athletic Director Adolph W. (Sonny) Santorine and initially inducted between 1970-82: Joe Scarpelli ('68), Dean Duchak ('63),  Jim Duchak ('68), Doug Duchak ('69),  Jan Ottens, Sr. ('63), Doug Gifford ('63), Jeff Jasper ('63), Peter Caugherty ('66), Mike Healy ('70), Rex Peters ('70), Kurt Peters ('74), Ed Outslay ('70) and Frank Outslay ('70). 

Piecing together the original Hall of Fame members has presented a challenge, Thomas noted, as the records have been lost to history. "The original members were pieced together by the collective memory of guys like Joe Scarpelli, Doug Duckak, Mike Healy and Kurt Peters," he explained. Aussems, Jordan and the 1961 Football team were not identified in time for last year's ceremony.

The Boosters have ensured the records will have a permanent place in the future with the donation of a new display case where all members of the Boosters Hall of Fame will be enshrined.

Tickets for the Hall of Fame induction are $70 per person. There will be a social hour beginning at 6:30, followed by dinner and the induction ceremonies.

Checks should be made payable to: The Midland Park Athletic Boosters Association, and can be sent to the attention of Tim Thomas, Midland Park High School at 250 Prospect St, dropped off at the Baseball Card Store on Prospect Street in Midland Park or can be obtained by calling Tim Thomas at 201-445-0902 or 201-925-4647 or emailing him at:

Want updates on Midland Park News? Sign up for MPK Press's FREE eNewsletter today

Upcoming Events Near You

No Events in the next 21 days.